top of page
Search
  • andysbookclub84

February's Review


Well if January got off to a flyer, February was a bit of a let down. I am two weeks overdue with my February review, for shame Andrew! I am hoping March will be better, in fact, if possible I would like to put out a review for each book I complete, as I complete it, rather than one review at the end of the month. Grand aspirations indeed! If you think this is a good idea let me know in the comments below.

I am pleased to report that despite my tardiness in putting out this review, I did in fact meet my target of two books completed before the end of the month (and it was a short month so I’m counting this as a win).

Without further ado please see below February’s review!



As I sit here and think about how to sum up this book, it becomes abundantly clear why I should write these reviews on time. I now find myself trying to remember what I liked and disliked about this book nearly four weeks after completing it. I’m not sure if this says more about the book or my memory.


I do remember that it started promising, a biographical account of Captain Liz Clark who embarked on a incredible sailing voyage at the tender age of 22. Captain Clark tells the story of how she is fortunate enough to have the opportunity to fulfil her dream of sun, sea, sailing and surfing whilst overcoming many challenges along the way. This book highlights the ongoing ecological problems our planet faces, but also shows that despite this, there are still some good people out there as Liz finds out along her journey.


However, as I got further into the book I must say I did start to find Liz a tad irritating, very judgy of me I know, and this did sour my enjoyment of the book. That may just be me and I wouldn’t let this put you off the book. If you’ve always dreamed of setting off on a life changing adventure, and would like to read about how a young woman overcame many challenges and grew as a person, then this is the book for you.


⭐⭐⭐



I honestly do not know where to begin. Actually I do….read this book! This is the true story of a corporate defence lawyer who took on a West Virginia farmers plaintiff case, little knowing this case would dominate the next twenty years of his life.


Farmer Earl Tennant complained his animals were being poisoned by chemical run-off from the company DuPont (the makers of Teflon/Tefal non-stick pans). What ensued was a cover up going back decades. Knowledge that a toxic air and waterborne chemical that caused cancer, birth defects, and all manner of horrible diseases was brushed under the carpet for profits. This case, which is still ongoing, should be more widely known. I don’t understand why there is not more uproar about this?! Let me share a statistic with you;


“99% of ALL LIVING CREATURES on the planet, have the toxic chemical PFOA in their body.”

Yes that means I have it, and you the reader also have it. If that has sufficiently peaked your interest then pick up this book and read the scandalous account for yourself. If you’re anything like me you’ll immediately bin all Tefal cookware!


In addition I would also recommend the very accurate film adaptation found on Netflix, “Dark Waters” with Mark Ruffalo.


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐




So February’s reviews proved to be a mixed bag. Again my humblest apologies for the delay, I will strive to do better in March. In fact I’m even going to go all out and say my target if four books, please see the titles below;


  • Atomic Habits by James Clear

  • Eugenics and Other Evils by G.K Chesterton

  • The Parasitic Mind by Gad Saad

  • The Secret Barrister by The Secret Barrister


“Be careful about reading health books. Some fine day you'll die of a misprint.”

Markus Herz

70 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


vanessafisci
vanessafisci
Mar 20, 2022

I’ve seen ”Dark Waters” and was absolutely horrified by the entire scandal! I would really like to read the book too.

Like
bottom of page