top of page
Search
  • andysbookclub84

March Book Reviews

I can't believe we're in April already! Three months and 11 books since I set my challenge and I feel like I'm doing quite well. I don't feel smarter yet but I'm enjoying myself and feel I have some interesting topics to discuss with others....whether they find them interesting is up for debate!


Enough waffling, let's crack on with the reviews for March.








Let me start by saying that self-help books are NOT my bag. I actually give a public talk pointing to research that shows that these books can be detrimental to some people. So why did I read James Clear's efforts? Because simply, it had great reviews. And Clear's idea that making small changes (atomic habits), even if it's striving to achieve one percent more each day, whether that be dieting, exercise, or any habit you want to improve upon, was intriguing. And I have to say the book was very well put together with each chapter's ideas being summarised. This book does not reinvent the wheel, nor does it claim to, but it puts simple and realistic suggestions together in a neat little package to help you reach your goals. A very good book that I'll be reading again.


⭐⭐⭐⭐





Well this is not what I was expecting! I wanted to learn more about the highly controversial subject of Eugenics, a theory in the early 20th century where Eugenics believed they could perfect humans by eliminating so-called social ills through genetics. However this book, written in 1922, was more akin to a rant (who can blame the author really), which actually made it quite humorous. I don't think comedy was the genre GK Chesterton was aiming for, and the subject is certainly no laughing matter, but it does shine a light on the terrifying theories of the time. Certainly food for thought.


⭐⭐⭐





Author Gad Saad tackles the controversial subjects of wokeism, cancel culture, freeness of speech and the likes in this no holds barred slamming of the so-called social justice warriors. Saad draws on his own experience of facing real life persecution, escaping war-torn Lebanon, and contrasts it with the perceived injustices of many today. He manages to take somewhat infuriating real-life accounts and, using hyperbole, make them quite comical to highlight the frightening lack of common sense pervasive in the world today. Thoroughly enjoyed.


⭐⭐⭐⭐





My only 5 star review of the month goes to The Secret Barrister. Well-written book that shines a light on the failings of the UK justice system that leads to the innocent being jailed, and the guilty being allowed to walk free. It breaks down daily life for a barrister, the challenges they face, and how bureaucracy leads to things going dreadfully wrong! I won't lie, it has made me slightly paranoid by highlighting how easy it is to find yourself in the dock, wrongly accused, and on the wrong end of a system that's supposed to protect the innocent. If you're a fan of real life courtroom drama or want to learn more about how the justice system works (or doesn't!) then I highly recommended this book.


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


And that is March done and dusted! A quite successful selection I feel. Bring on April and these titles:


Finding Ultra by Rich Roll

The Wisdom of Wolves by Jim & Jamie Dutcher

The Lost World of Genesis One by John H Walton


A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies… the man who never reads lives only one.

George R.R. Martin

45 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 comentario


vanessafisci
vanessafisci
06 abr 2022

The secret barrister sounds really interesting, but also quite terrifying!! Might have to give it a read myself.

I would like to read the parasitic mind but I think it would just make me angry!! I’ve heard excerpts from Atomic Habits, might have to read that too and see if I can kick start some good habits!!!


Good reviews though, thanks !

Me gusta
bottom of page